2016 NSW Youth Championships’ – winners decided

by Australian Sailing - Stacey French

The 2016 New South Wales Youth Championships have wrapped up for another year with over 300 competitors making the most of conditions on Botany Bay in Sydney. 

The regatta was hosted by Georges River Sailing Club over the three day long weekend, with sailors and their families coming from all over Australia.

While racing was abandoned on day one, the Championships swung into full force on day two producing brilliant sailing conditions. 

Australian Sailing’s NSW/ACT Regional Manager, Declan Brennan said the event was a massive success for all involved.

“It was an interesting couple of days of racing with too much wind on the first and loads of breeze on the last day but perfect conditions on the day in-between,” Declan said.  “Botany Bay certainly lived up to its expectations and provided competitors and spectators alike with great youth sailing conditions.

“The NSW Youth Championships hold a prominent place on the national youth sailing calendar and we are very fortunate to have a club such as George’s River Sailing Club hosting the event this year.  The race officials and volunteers all put in a massive effort during trying conditions over the three-day competition and we thank them for the commitment to youth sailing in NSW.”

Otto Henry and Rome Featherstone on board Chippa have won the NSW Youth Championship in the 420 class, holding on to their narrow lead after day two of competition.  In second place were Sophie McIntosh and Emily Summerrell (Quicky) with Col Tapper and Thomas Green from Woollahra Sailing Club in third.


NSW 29er Silly Galah skippered by Tom Crockett and crewed by Max Paul won the NSW Youth Championship in the 29er class, maintaining a strong lead throughout the regatta.  Natasha Bryant and Annie Wilmot finished the regatta in second with Harrison Sly and Brandon Demura (Skippy) from Victoria rounding out the podium places in third.


Flying 11
Thomas Steenson and Cameron Burt (Silly Galah) won the Flying 11 NSW Youth Championships by one point over the Tasmanians, Brendan Crisp and Daniel Maree (Heater Skelter). Thomas Larking and Tony Harrison (Dynamite) finished the regatta in third position.

Flying 11 RESULTS

Laser 4.7
George Morton (Stratocaster) from Queensland took out the Laser 4.7 NSW Youth Championship, six points clear of Will Cooley (Afterburn), to win his second youth championship title in as many weeks.

Morton’s win at the NSW Youth Championship is icing on the cake after winning the Queensland Youth Championships at Keppel Bay Sailing Club.

“I got a good first race in yesterday and managed to hold consistency throughout the day and I ended up with three seconds leading into the final day today,” Morton said. 

“The forecast was windy today, but I have done a lot of windy training up in Queensland so I was pretty excited to get out there and race.  I’ve been working hard with all of my Queensland coaches to improve my hiking so I managed to hold good speed in racing today.

Laser 4.7 RESULTS

Laser Radial 
Finn Alexander (Infinity) has taken out the Laser Radial NSW Youth Championship winning four from five races of the regatta.

“The first day was really windy and we had a lot of waiting but a lot of the conditions were quiet shifty and moderate,” Alexander said.  “I love the breeze so when I saw the forecast for today I was stoked. It was a good final day and I’m glad the Race Committee sent us out. 

 “It was a good check in regatta for me to make sure everything was going alright leading into the Youth Worlds in December.

Hungarian competitor and Rio Olympian, Marie Erdi finished the regatta in second with Oskar Hansen finishing third.

Laser Radial RESULTS

Open Bic
Oliver Ashton (Blue Ink) in the Open Bic NSW Youth Champion Rory Jame Murtagh (Rawfin 2) from Tasmania finished second and David Dooley (Walk on Water) third.


Optimist (Green)
Full Report CLICK HERE

Optimist (Intermediate)
NSW Optis dominated the Optimist Intermediate Class with Cooper Bellingham (Whooshka) winning the NSW Youth Championships. Oscar N W Gree (Greeny Gonzales) finished second and Chapman Tanner (Redback) third.

Intermediate RESULTS

Optimist (Open)
In the Opti Open fleet Jack Ferguson (Aloha) from Woollahra Sailing Club has won the 2016 NSW Youth Championship by one point from Queenslander, Blake Wilson (Bougainvillea). Daniel Links (The Mighty Muppet) finished the regatta in third.


New South Wales have taken one, two and three in the Sabot class at the 2016 NSW Youth Championships. William Burt (Slippery Little Sucker) came in first with Haylee Kellam (Blue Bottle) in second and Hugo Darin (Firebolt) in third. 


Techno 293 
Techno 293 NSW Youth Champion is; Alex Halank (Miss Myflare). Anthony Charlton (Techno) finished second with Courtney Schoutrop (Erised) third.

Techno 293 RESULTS


The NSW Youth Championships are proudly supported by the NSW Government through Transport for NSW, Nautilus Marine Boat Insurance, Gill Marine Technical Clothing, Steve Jarvin Motors, Tohatsu Outboards, Lejen Marine and Sydney Harbour Boat Storage.

The 2017 New South Wales Youth Championships will be held on the Labour Day long weekend from Saturday 30 September to Monday 2 October 2017.

Don’t forget that entries are now open for the 2017 Australian Youth Championship, which will be held at Adelaide Sailing Club in January – ENTER NOW


Image Credits

George Morton on his way to winning the Laser 4.7 NSW Youth Championship CREDIT Robin Evans

420 Otto Henry Sophie McIntosh Cole Tapper
  Rome Featherstone Emily Summerrell Thomas Green
Flying 11 Thomas Steenson Brendan Crisp Thomas Larkings
  Cameron Burt Daniel Maree Tony Harrison
Laser Radial Finn Alexander Maria Erdi Oskar Hansen
Open BIC Oliver Ashton Rory James Murtagh David Dooley
29er Tom Crockett Natasha Bryant Harrison Sly
  Max Paul Annie Wilmot Brandon Demura
Laser 4.7 George Morton Will Cooley Boston Cortis
Techno Alex Halank Anthony Charlton Courtney Schoutrop
Opti Open Jack Ferguson Blake Wilson Daniel Links
Opti Intermediate Cooper Bellingham Oscar N W Gree Chapman Tanner
Sabot William Burt Haylee Kellam Hugo Darin



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Youth Championship Events

Government Partners