Nominations now open for the 2017 Australian Sailing Awards

by Australian Sailing

The 2017 Australian Sailing Awards will recognise the achievements of members of the sailing and boating community over the past 12 months, as well as acknowledging those who have contributed to our sport for many years.

Nominations are now open for the annual Australian Sailing Awards with Clubs, Class Associations and their members encouraged to submit nominations.  Award winners will be announced at a gala celebration in Sydney on Friday 3 November in conjunction with the inaugural Australian Sailing Hall of Fame induction.

Nominations are being accepted in the categories of Male Sailor of the Year, Female Sailor of the Year, Sailor of the Year with a Disability, Youth Sailor of the Year, Sport Promotion Award, Sport Professional Award and Lifetime Achievement.  Nominations close at 5pm on Thursday 28 September, 2017.

Australian Sailing President, Matt Allen is encouraging Clubs and members to submit nominations saying, “The annual Australian Sailing Awards are an important date in the sailing calendar and a time to celebrate the achievements of so many.   Dating back to 1962 when the legendary Jock Sturrock took out the first ‘Australian Yachtsman of the Year’ Award, our rich sailing history has continued to grow with recognition of some of our best sailors, administrators, officials, Clubs and events over the decades.

“Clubs, Associations and their members have the opportunity to get involved and nominate outstanding sailing performances over the past 12 months, or acknowledge someone who, over many years, has made an exceptional contribution to sailing which has benefited others”, Matt added.

Nominations are now open in the categories of

Male Sailor of the Year | NOMINATE NOW
Female Sailor of the Year | NOMINATE NOW
Youth Sailor of the Year | NOMINATE NOW
Sailor of the Year with a Disability | NOMINATE NOW
Sport Promotion Award | NOMINATE NOW
Sport Professional Award | NOMINATE NOW
Lifetime Achievement Award | NOMINATE NOW

At the Awards ceremony on Friday 3 November, additional Awards will be presented for Coach of the Year, Instructor of the Year, Official of the Year, Club of the Year and the Volunteer Award, with nominations in these categories submitted directly from the State Associations and not available for open nomination.

Details of Awards and selection criteria, along with nomination forms can be found on the Australian Sailing website.  Follow Australian Sailing on Facebook for previous winner flashbacks over the coming weeks.



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Youth Championship Events

Government Partners